Chaos

When life gets crazy, it’s very easy to “fall off the wagon” in terms of lifestyle changes. After nearly a year of staying right on track, I can honestly say life came to a crashing halt and spiraled out of control over the last few weeks.

We’ve always been an active family, but even for the best planners (and I consider myself pretty good), the life train can run full speed ahead with no way of stopping. That’s what our family is experiencing right now.

My husband and I are currently on a house hunt that has been exhausting. We seen anywhere from 3-5 houses per week trying to find that perfect home and we’re under a bit of pressure. Our daughter starts Kindergarten in the fall and we desperately want to move out of our current school district in favor of our preferred school choices (there are currently three).

Now you would think this wouldn’t be too bad – but wait – there’s more! On top of the house hunt, our daughter also plays softball – a commitment of approximately 2-3 nights a week for 1-2 hours per night. Additionally, she’s also a gymnast and attends classes on Saturday. Oh and I’m in the middle of my busy season at work with marketing campaigns.

So if you’re keeping track, I’m pretty much running somewhere just about every night. So where does that leave my diet, exercise (and sanity). Well, that’s the difficult task I’m faced with.

To be honest, I’ve been married to my gym for about nine months now but over the past three weeks, we’ve had sort of a “trial separation.” We’re not divorcing by any means, but simply – I just can’t get there!

While it’s not a perfect system, I’m doing my best on my own with the knowledge of I’ve learned. Some body exercises in the living room, a few extra trips up and down the stairs, doing my best to walk more. You get the picture. It’s not perfect, but it’s not a disaster.

My eating schedule has also become increasingly difficult. Sometimes we haven’t had a chance to prep because we were so late getting home from softball / house hunting. Basically, my life is chaos right now.

But it’s ok. I’m rolling with it.

Yes, I’ve had to eat out more than I’d like to in the past few weeks but I’ve tried very hard to keep it to the best options possible.

Yes, my exercise is lacking and I’m frustrated by it – but what can I do.

But …

I haven’t gained a pound! I’m maintaining my weight and to me – that’s a win in itself! It’s not always the number on the scale because I’m still happy and I’m healthy and while life is getting chaotic, I’m learning to adapt. Each week is getting a little better and once we get into the routine, it’ll be smooth sailing from this point forward.

 

One thought on “Chaos

Leave a Reply

