Don’t be sucked in

PLEASE NOTE: I am not (nor will I ever claim to be) the all-knowing expert on the subject. I simply wanted to point out how easy people can be fooled by healthy claims and “quick fix” weight loss programs. All information research was pulled from various sources around the web I feel were not only trustworthy, but also cross-checked for accuracy as best as possible. 

After my story appeared Monday, I received numerous messages from people and one solicitation. The email came from a local girl who was peddling a product called “skinny wraps.” She graciously offered me a $20 wrap to celebrate my achievement.

Now, a year ago I may have been sucked into the dream that in an hour I could just wish the inches away. Today, I would look at this person (if I saw her) to tell her she’s insane. No one can simply “wish” inches away and if this “magic” product really worked, don’t you think there’d be a whole lot more skinny people on the planet!

So before I called this product junk, I wanted to look into just what these “natural” ingredients were. First, I went to the website she sent me… which boasts everywhere that their product is “all natural” but coincidently doesn’t list the actual ingredients anywhere that I could find easily.

So I sent a message back to the vendor asking for the ingredients list and a few hours later received a fuzzy photo of the ingredients.

Cream Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glucose, Caprylic / Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat., Stearic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth 12, Aesculus hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Urea, Centella asiatica (Hydrocotyl) Leaf Extract, Camellia sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Fucus vesiculosus (Bladderwrack) Thalle Extract, Hedera helix (Ivy) Leaf Extract, Equisetum arvense (Horsetail) Leaf/Stem Extract, Ruscus aculeatus (Butchers Broom) Root Extract, Paullinia cupana (Guarana) Seed Extract, Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Decyl Oleate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, TEA-Hydroiodide, Methylsilanol Mannuronate, Menthol, Camphor, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Retinyl Palmitate, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Rosmarinus officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Eucalyptus globulus (Eucalyptus) Leaf Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, cc, BHT. Limonene, Linalool.

So let the detective work begin (FYI, I’m only pulling out some of the product offenders).

Alcohol Denat -  Denatured alcohol is used as a solvent and as fuel for spirit burners and camping stoves. Websites report that  it can cause systemic eczematous, contact dermatitis and chemical sensitivities. But seriously, why do I want to put something used in CAMPING STOVES on my body?  You can read more about this and other products to avoid here.

Stearic Acid – has a history of hazardous and dangerous side effects. The fumes contain octadecanoic acids which cause severe respiratory problems. This product has also been linked to problems with intestines. Additionally, extended exposure has been linked to cancer. No thank you!

Ceteareth 12 – Usually when I see a number, I associate that with some kind of chemically produced thing because they clearly didn’t get 1-11 right! I found out this product is found in a variety of cosmetic products and often found with pseudonyms of dimethicone, PEG-40 and other compounds with syllables of “eth” or PEG. It’s really just a chemical cocktail (wait … wasn’t this product “all natural.” It’s also a known breast carcinogen. Various websites report that the process, called ethoxylation, adds ethylene oxide to other chemicals to make it less harsh on the skin. However, during the process 1.4 dioxane is created, another known breast carcinogen.

That alone should stop you from wanting to use this product. But just in case… here’s a few more reasons.

Urea - formally known as diazolidinyl urea, imidazolidinyl urea, or DMDM hydantoin and sodium hydroxymethylglycinate, are preservatives that have the potential to release formaldehyde in very small amounts and are a primary cause of contact dermatitis. You can read more here.

Peg 7 - Known to dehydrate the skin and increase (yes INCREASE) signs of aging and also leave your skin vulnerable to bacteria and disease. I don’t know about you… but I already look old… I really don’t want to look older!

Phenoxyethanol - This product has an FDA WARNING!!!!!!! It’s a preservative that is primarily used in cosmetics and medication. It has been known to depress the central nervous system and may cause vomiting and diarrhea,which leads to dehydration. Read more here.

Triethanolamine causes allergic reactions including eye problems, dry hair and skin and can be toxic if absorbed into the body over a long period of time. These chemicals are restricted in Europe because of their known carcinogenic effects because they have been linked to cancer in mice.BHT - this additive is used in so many products and has some pretty scare concerns including a warning to not let this chemical into the environment. It’s combustible. Ingestion will cause abdominal pain, confusion, dizziness, nausea, vomiting and has been linked to effects on the liver. You can read more here.

I could go on and on and on and on with this list but I think you get the point… well at least I hope you do!
According to my husband, I’m turning into a crazy hippy chick. But then again, why wouldn’t I? The more I read the more I learn and the more I want to know what goes in and on my body. For those out there saying “oh it’s just on my body” I’d like to thank my friend Lisa for pointing out that our skin is our largest organ and it takes less than a minute to absorb chemicals into the body… and then they’re IN the body.
Between this mini research product and the more knowledge I gain, I’m going to start exploring my own healthy and beauty recipes. I know two people who have done it successfully and are happy. Hopefully I’ll continue following in their footsteps.

As I’ve been saying for a while now, this all doesn’t happen over night. It started with making better food choices. Then I realized I could make those good choices even better. It’s now spreading to other parts of my life. If you really commit to this process and dive in with an open mind and the need to read – you’ll be amazed at what happens.

To those that “think” this process is more expensive. I’m willing to bet it’s not. My food bill has DECREASED since starting and I’m thinking my HBA bill is going to follow suit.

So back to the original reason for this post, just in case you still aren’t convinced that this product is a sham, here’s a few other tid-bits I found searching online:

  • The product basically dehydrates you (which is why you need to drink half your body weight in water). Dehydration is NOT healthy nor recommended. 
  • The results are temporary and if you want them to last you have to do the wrap weekly. Boy won’t that get expensive. Let’s see I can do simple math…. $20 per wrap (likely more like $30 per wrap) once a week times 52 weeks in a year… that’s $1,040 (roughly speaking)… I can think of a few better uses for that money!
  • The wraps cause circulatory compression. This will cause a LOT of problems in your life.

You can read more about these dangers here, here and here.

I hope this helps and inspires a few people (like it’s inspired me) to look at not only the food in your life, but all products associated with your body.

2 thoughts on “Don’t be sucked in

  1. Thank you. It’s taken a while for me to get to this point of the research stage but it’s honestly addictive. Once you start looking into one thing… you’re going to start looking into everything and be amazed at what you learn and shocked by what you’re doing to your body!

Leave a Reply

